Back to Home Need Help? Click the Ask a librarian link on the Online Library home page!

Websites in this guide have been vetted by librarians and faculty. These guides are here to help students and faculty. Information includes: Videos Both Fun and Instructional Reliable Websites to Support One’s Program of Study / Field Terminologies, Blogs, Tutorials, Professional Organizations, & More

Surgical Technology Tools & Resources

Surgical Technology Videos

MedlinePlus: Videos of Surgical Procedures
Provides links to pre-recorded webcasts of surgical procedures. These are actual operations performed at medical centers in the United States since January 2004. RealPlayer is necessary to view the videos
OR Live
OR-Live features live and on-demand Webcasts of breakthrough medical procedures from world renowned medical centers and hospitals. Podcasts as well as live and pre-recorded video streams are available

Matching Medical Terms and Meanings
Matching exercise from mdtrng.org
Medical Terminology Activities: Prefixes, Roots & Suffixes
Activities to help you learn commonly used prefixes, suffixes, and roots in human anatomy and physiology. From Dr. Murray Jensen at the University of Minnesota.
Medical Terminology Practice Test
From AAMA

MedLine Plus Medical Dictionary
Click on the red speaker icon within each entry to hear audio pronunciations for terms.
Medical Eponyms
Medical eponym database created & maintained by Dr. Andrew Yee of Massachusetts General Hospital.
Merck Manual: Understanding Medical Terminology
Provides a breakdown of commonly used medical prefixes, roots, and suffixes. Also provides links to other resources, including a pronounciation guide.
Medical Terminology and Drug Database
Hosted by St. Jude's Hospital. Definitions are provided by the National Cancer Institute, U.S. National Institutes of Health. The database is updated monthly.
Drug List Index: Generic and Trade Names
Pronounciation guide with audio. Look up generic drug trade names, and vice-versa. Provided by the University of Michigan's Medicinal Chemistry Virtual Library (MCVL).

American Journal of Medicine
For the latest medical news, images and editorials.
Hopkins Medicine
Published three times a year, Hopkins Medicine magazine shares the issues and events that shape one of the world's leading health care institutions.
Internet Scientific Publications
An open-access collection of peer-reviewed medical and scientific journals, covering a wide range of topics, disciplines, and specialties, and boasting authorship from all around the world.
Medscape.com
From the creators of WebMD, provides clinicians and other healthcare professionals with timely, comprehensive and relevant clinical information to improve patient care. FREE registration required
PubMed Database
PubMed Central® (PMC) is a free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM).
The "Virtual" Medical Center - Anesthesiology & Surgery Center
This site provides links to medical dictionaries and glossaries, interactive anatomy browsers, and online medical journals, as well as surgical and anesthesiology sites

Occupational Safety & Health Administration (OSHA)
OSHA creates and enforces workplace safety standards. Of particular interest to surgical technologists are the following OSHA pages:

Healthcare Facilities
Laser/Electrosurgery Plume
Hospital eTool: Surgical Suite Module
Click on the various objects in a surgical suite graphic to get information about potential health and safety issues related to them
Waste Anesthetic Gases

Occupational Summary

Job summary, requirements, salary and opportunity outlook from the US Department of Labor, Bureau of Labor Statistics.
Occupational Employment Statistics

Wage statistics for surgical technologists in 2013, broken down by industry and region.

More Career Sites

http://www.allalliedhealthschools.com/medical-technician/surgical-technologist-job-description/

https://www.thebalance.com/what-is-a-surgical-technologist-526071