Back to Home Need Help? Click the Ask a librarian link on the Online Library home page!
|
These guides are here to help students and faculty. Information includes:
|
Early Childhood Education Tools & Resources
Lesson Plan Websites 
-
GEM allows you to quickly and easily search for educational resources, such as lesson plans and curriculum units. GEM draws from some of the country's best museums, universities, and government programs, including NASA, the Smithsonian Institution in Washington DC, the National Science Foundation, and the Exploratorium in San Francisco.
-
Grade Level Lesson Plans for Preschool, Kindergarten, ElementarySearch or browse lesson plans and teaching resources to find what you need for themes and thematic units, literature & book activities, math, science, learning centers, social studies, computers, reading, writing, P.E./health, cooperative learning, and more!
-
K-6 Elementary Education Lesson PlansLessons in subjects such as reading, math, language, social studies, science, art, health, etc.
-
Lesson Planet - Find Teacher-Approved Lesson PlansSearch Over 150,000 Teacher Reviewed Lesson Plans and 75,000 Worksheets.
-
Lesson Plans - ReadWriteThinkHundreds of standards-based lesson plans written and reviewed by educators using current research and the best instructional practices.
-
Lesson Plans for TeachersThe site provides a searchable directory of lesson plans, as well as the ability to browse by subject, by month and by grade level. In addition, teachers can participate in the development of the site by contributing their unique lesson plans.
-
NEA - Lesson PlansHundreds of archived lessons are searchable by keyword.
-
The Lesson Plans PageOver 4,000 free lesson plans. To find lesson plans that match your criteria, begin by selecting a subject, recent additions, or seasonal lessons in the box below, or search for specific topics.
-
Education World : Early Childhood CenterThis community has been created to celebrate and support the creativity and dedication of all those who participate in the education of young children. Teachers, parents, aides, and administrators are encouraged to explore these resources and share your ideas for working with young children.
-
Teaching Guide : Writing Lesson PlansThere are many approaches to writing lesson plans. Some instructors develop their plans independently from scratch, while others borrow plans from a shared curriculum. Some carefully write out all the details for their lesson, while others use a brief outline. Your approach to writing lesson plans will depend on various factors: how well you know the material you're teaching, how long you've been teaching, the kinds of teaching you've done, and the students you expect to have in your class. There is no single formula for writing lesson plans, but this guide will help you think through some of the processes that other instructors have found valuable to their own lesson planning.
Teacher Tube
-
Teacher Tube"Our goal is to provide an online community for sharing instructional videos. We seek to fill a need for a more educationally focused, safe venue for teachers, schools, and home learners."
Early Childhood Videos (YouTube Channel by Eastern Connecticut University)
-
Investigating Seriesnvestigations is the curriculum used by Eastern's Child and Family Development Resource Center (CFDRC). The curriculum was developed by CFDRC teachers and administrators in partnership with Dr. Jeffrey Trawick-Smith. The curriculum is centered around engaging projects—called "investigations"—on topics that are selected by children, teachers, and families. Each video in the Investigating... series captures one topic of investigation explored at the CFDRC. Videos include interviews with preschool and toddler teachers about how children engaged in literacy, math, science, art, and other activities through the three- or four-month investigation.
-
EclipsE-clips are brief, professional development videos that provide teachers and caregivers with tips and ideas they can implement in their work with young children. Each e-clip features an expert describing how early childhood professionals can use the latest research to enhance children's learning. Interviews with classroom teachers and footage from preschool classrooms illustrate how educators can put theory into practice and capture authentic early childhood classroom experiences. Supplementing each e-clip are suggested readings, additional on-line resources, and discussion questions to support conversations within instructional teams or in staff meetings.
-
Research StudiesThe Center for Early Childhood Education is committed to sharing useful resources with early childhood teachers, administrators, researchers, trainers, and policymakers. The Center is developing a large archive of video footage young children, early childhood professionals engaged in teaching, and interviews with experts that can be used for specific research or training uses.
-
The Importance of Physical and Outdoor PlayIn the summer of 2010, the Center for Early Childhood Education was awarded a contract from Head Start Body Start to conduct research on the benefits of physical and outdoor play for children from birth to age five. In addition to developing a comprehensive literature review and research-into-practice briefs for teachers and parents, the Center developed five video clips illustrating ways that adults can support and encourage active play in young children.
ACEI
Association for Childhood Education International
Why Join ACEI?
ACEI members are offered many benefits that are specific to their member category. These benefits include publications, subscriptions, event registration discounts, insurance discounts, online training, and more. Some benefits may not apply to various geographic locations. - See more at: http://acei.org/join-acei/additional-member-benefits.html#sthash.ANCFHeft.dpuf
About ACEI:
ACEI is a global community of educators and advocates who unite knowledge, experience, and perspectives in order to exchange information, explore innovation and advocate for children. - See more at: http://acei.org/about-us/about-us.html#sthash.pzHTmWAS.dpuf
Tasks
- Establish and enforce rules for behavior, and procedures for maintaining order.
- Organize and lead activities designed to promote physical, mental and social development, such as games, arts and crafts, music, storytelling, and field trips.
- Teach basic skills such as color, shape, number and letter recognition, personal hygiene, and social skills.
- Observe and evaluate children's performance, behavior, social development, and physical health.
- Read books to entire classes or to small groups.
- Attend to children's basic needs by feeding them, dressing them, and changing their diapers.
- Provide a variety of materials and resources for children to explore, manipulate and use, both in learning activities and in imaginative play.
- Assimilate arriving children to the school environment by greeting them, helping them remove outerwear, and selecting activities of interest to them.
- Serve meals and snacks in accordance with nutritional guidelines.
- Teach proper eating habits and personal hygiene.
Wages & Employment Trends
| Median wages (2013) | $13.26 hourly, $27,570 annual |
|
State wages |
|
| Employment (2012) | 438,000 employees |
|
Projected growth (2012-2022) |
|
|
Projected job openings (2012-2022) |
199,400 |
|
State trends
|
 |
| Top industries (2012) | |
Faster than average (15% to 21%)
Source: Bureau of Labor Statistics 2013 wage data 
and 2012-2022 employment projections . "Projected growth" represents the estimated change in total employment over the projections period (2012-2022). "Projected job openings" represent openings due to growth and replacement.
Printables
-
EarlyChildhoodPrintables.comEarly Childhood Printables offers both free and membership printables. All printables come in both black and white as well as color versions and require Acrobat Reader to view and print.
-
Abcteach.com PreK & Early Childhood PrintablesPre K and Early Childhood printable worksheets are meant for Pre Kindergarten through 2nd grade. The supplemental materials should be use with teacher instruction for the younger students and review for the older students. Also try our Subjects section and Theme Unit section for additional printable worksheets.
-
Makinglearningfun.comWhether you are a parent, teacher, or childcare care provider, you'll love our site filled with educational printables and activities for the children you love. You'll find that pre-kindergarten through first grade students will enjoy our activities most, but you'll find yourself having fun too!
-
Parent-Teacher Conference Resources (Printables & Articles) - TeacherVision.comThis site offers planning suggestions, preparation advice, conference forms, tips, insights, and communication ideas to help teachers prepare for successful parent-teacher conferences.
Classroom Management
-
NEA - Classroom ManagementTips on classroom management from the National Education Association.
-
Early Childhood Education Classroom Management Tips (Scholastic.com)Many new teachers find themselves overwhelmed during their first year in the classroom. So we asked Polly Greenberg, longtime ECT contributor and “Ask the Experts” columnist, to offer some advice to the teacher who wrote to us, saying she’d lost complete control of her classroom. Hopefully you’ve never dealt with a situation this extreme, but we hope some of Polly’s tips might help every teacher who has ever had difficulty managing the children in their classrooms.
-
10 Tips for Improving the Early Learning Classroom Environment (Hatchearlylearning.com)Chaos in the classroom isn’t good for the teacher or the children. Keep stress levels low and consider these tips as you head back to school.
Guides, Articles & Advice
-
Awesome LibraryAwesome Library organizes the Web with 37,000 carefully reviewed resources, including the top 5 percent in education.
-
Childhood Matters : Free Audio : DownloadChildhood Matters is a radio forum that seeks to increase knowledge and support for parents and other adults who care for children.
-
Database of Award-Winning Children's LiteratureThe purpose of this database is to create a tailored reading list of quality children's literature or to find out if a book has won one of the indexed awards.
-
Division for Early Childhood, TheThe Division for Early Childhood (DEC) is one of seventeen divisions of the Council for Exceptional Children (CEC) - the largest international professional organization dedicated to improving educational outcomes for individuals with exceptionalities, students with disabilities, and/or the gifted.
-
Great Websites for Kids (Association for Library Service to Children)"Great Websites for Kids is a compilation of exemplary websites geared to children from birth to age 14. [...] Newly evaluated and accepted sites are added to the database three times a year. The committee also reviews all sites within the database twice a year to guarantee sites are still relevant, appropriate and accessible."
-
MAKING THE MOST OF PARENT-TEACHER CONFERENCESA great document about parent-teacher conferences from the SchoolSourceNYC.
-
Media Specialist's Guide to the InternetA great blog that features tons of links to educational websites and tools. Covers grades K-12.
-
NECTAC: National Early Childhood Technical Assistance CenterOur mission: To strengthen service systems to ensure that children with disabilities (birth through 5 years) and their families receive and benefit from high quality, culturally appropriate and family-centered supports and services.
-
Proven Teaching Strategies and Professional Development for Lesson Planning, Classroom Management, and Teaching | Scholastic.comFind teaching tips and strategies from real teachers. Come back daily for photos and videos of ideas you can use in your classroom.
-
Reading Rockets: Teaching StrategiesTeaching Strategies Articles on an array of teaching topics.
-
Smithsonian: Education and OutreachGreat teaching materials from the Nation's museums.
-
Teaching and Learning StrategiesIn this area of the website you will find information on some of the best researched and the most widely implemented methods of helping all students to learn more successfully. The information includes a description of how the teaching and learning strategies work, where they have been applied, results, and where to find further information from experts in the field, books, websites, and other resources.
-
Technical Assistance Center on Social Emotional Intervention for Young Children (TACSEI)Promotes the use of evidence-based practice to meet the needs of young children who have, or are at risk for, problem behavior.