|
Anatomy & Physiology:
Interactive games and videos to help you memorize parts of the body with labels.
Excellent anatomy study tools, guides, images and facts.
Interactive study tool that shows parts of the body with labels.
Infectious Diseases:
Chapters on bacterial, viral, fungal, parasitical infections plus other diseases.
List of diseases plus information for each.
List of immunizations for diseases.
Medical Dictionaries and Encyclopedias:
The purpose of this site is to provide visitors with an explanation of an acronym and does not contain any information that could replace the relationship that exists between the site visitor and his/her health professional.
Browse or search for diseases; includes definitions, symptoms, treatment, prognosis and more.
This is a large site with medical, health, disease and conditions, procedures and tests, medications, health and wellness look up features.
Primarily a dictionary of over 200,000 medical, pharmaceutical, biomedical and healthcare acronyms and abbreviations. The website also contains medical news and information for the medical, pharmaceutical and healthcare professional as well as links for ICD9 codes and the Merck Manual of Diagnosis and Therapy.
Encyclopedia of rare diseases and orphan drugs plus links to research and patient organizations.
Medical General Sites:
A website which has continuing education topics to choose from to enhance your knowledge of medical topics. It is categorized by body systems, specialties, and/or diseases. Most of them are free.
A website developed and maintained by the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. It is a key resource for finding links to the best government and nonprofit health and human services information on the internet from over 1,500 health-related organizations. You will find it easy to use, and it can be accessed in both English and Spanish.
A source for diseases, symptoms and treatments.
A great resource for full text articles, surgical videos and more.
Good in-depth medical data.
This site addresses rare diseases.
|
Back to Home -Need Help? Click the Ask a librarian link on the Online Library home page!
Websites in this guide have been vetted by librarians and faculty.
These guides are here to help students and faculty.
- This Guide is a Comprehensive Guide that covers: Medical Office Assisting, Medical Assisting, Electronic Health Records / Electronic Medical Records, Healthcare Assisting, Home Health Aide, Healthcare Technology, Allied Health Management, Clinical Office Assistant, Medical Billing & Coding, and other closely related fields in Allied Health Care.
-
Start with the tabs below to find tutorials, videos, articles, websites, and other relevant resources.
Allied Health Comprehensive Medical Guide
General Videos
|
|
|
|
Specific tips from Pearson for medical office phone procedures. 2 min. |
This page is an archive of video resources available for student and faulty use.
Office Skills (YouTube)
-
Office Sweet Office – Medical Office Training (Wink Productions)Published on Nov 26, 2014
There is a difference between a good practice and a great practice. A good practice makes certain that all of the important medical fundamentals are in place. But, a great practice focuses on the little things, the small, seemingly inconsequential things that add up to create a great experience in your office. -
When the Wait is Inevitable – Medical Office Training (Wink Productions)Published on Nov 26, 2014
Sometimes there is nothing you can do to avoid a schedule that runs behind. It just happens. So, what can be done to make those inevitable waits less stressful for both patients and office team members? This short vignette provides strategies to help your patients actually enjoy the time they spend in your reception area!
General Medical Websites
• HealthCare.gov – This resource has proven tremendously beneficial to current medical assistants, covering every relevant healthcare-related topic. The site is maintained and updated by the United States Department of Health and Human Services in an effort to maintain heightened awareness throughout the healthcare industry.
• Health Care Administration – The site covers a range of topics for medical professionals, assistants, and anyone interested in public health or the medical industry.
• Medi-Smart – Medi-Smart is a comprehensive resource covering a broad range of topics related to nursing. Medical assistants can access the site to learn about numerous topics related to nursing and healthcare in general.
• United States Library of Medicine – The official journal of the United States Library of Medicine, which is published by the National Institute of Health.
• American Association of Medical Assistants – Study Resources – A detailed list of study resources provided by the AAMA to help students prepare for the CMA or AAMA Certification Examination
• Medical Assistant Programs Guide – This guide offers a comprehensive list of programs by degree and state for aspiring medical assistants as well as numerous articles about the medical assisting field.
• Health Hive – The latest health news
• New York Times Health – Health articles, public health warnings, and information regarding vaccines
First Aid & EHR/EMR Websites
First Aid
- American Heart Association Guidelines for CPR and ECC (2005) -- Full text as HTML or PDF.
- The Difference Between an EMT and a Paramedic -- Excellent article.
- Emergency Medical Technicians and Paramedics -- Job description with statistics from the Occupational Outlook Handbook, 2010-2011 edition, compiled by the U.S. Department of Labor.
- EMTB.com -- Comprehensive online resource for EMT-B students and instructors; includes quizzes, skill sheets, a vocabulary explorer, an anatomy review, and much more. Sponsored by Jones & Bartlett, medical publishers.
- EMT Life -- Online discussion forum for those working in the EMT profession.
- First Aid -- The Mayo Clinic's first aid page, including CPR.
- First Aid -- Medline Plus' first aid page, including CPR, wounds.
- Hardin MD (Hardin Meta Directory) - a "directory of directories" for health and medicine.
- HIVdent - a not-for-profit coalition of concerned health care professionals committed to assuring access to high quality oral health care services for adults, adolescents, and children living with HIV disease.
- International Association of Flight Paramedics -- Includes news, newsletters, study guides, position papers, press releases, and links to other web sites.
- Merck Manual Online- a trusted source for medical information available free online.
- Learn CPR: You Can Do It! -- Includes information and video demonstrations; up to date as of March 31, 2008.
- National Registry of Emergency Medical Technicians -- Certification information.
- Paramedic.com - Includes podcasts for medical professionals, and links to nursing, firefighter, and paramedic resources.
- ParamedicTV -- Lots of online videos for paramedics!
- U.S. National Library of Medicine Gateway - the world's largest medical library providing information and research services in all areas of biomedicine and health care. This link provides a global search function for PubMed, PubMed Central, and Medline Plus.
EHR/EMR
- HealthIT--Resources to learning about EHR's.
- EHR--Shares information about how health care information is transforming to electronic format. Information for both professionals and consumers.
- Search HealthIT --- EHR Systems--Information on EHR best practices, EHR selection, EHR implementation, and EHR certification.
- EHR Intelligence--EHRIntelligence is a leading online resource for the latest news and product information about Electronic Health Records and Electronic Medical Records.
Articles:
- Electronic Medical Record vs Electronic Health Record : there is a difference--HIMSS Analytics, 2006
- EMR vs EHR – What is the Difference?--Health IT Buzz, January 4, 2011, 12:07 pm
- What is the difference between a Personal Health Record, an Electronic Health Record, and an Electronic Medical Record?--Health IT.gov
-
FreeCMEA website which has continuing education topics to choose from to enhance your knowledge of medical topics. It is categorized by body systems,
-
healthfinder.govA website developed and maintained by the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. It is a key resource for finding links to the best government and nonprofit health and human services information on the internet from over 1,500 health-related organizations. You will find it easy to use, and it can be accessed in both English and Spanish.
-
Mayo ClinicA source for diseases, symptoms and treatments.
-
MedNarA great resource for full text articles, surgical videos and more.
-
MERCK MANUALSGood in-depth medical data.
-
National Center for Advancing Translational Sciences (NIH)This site addresses rare diseases.
-
National Library of MedicineThe place to begin with medical questions. It contains news, information, research resources, and links covering all medical fields, updated daily for healthcare professionals and the general public. Resources on this site include:
◾Medline Plus: designed for the public, the website feature contains a medical dictionary (Merriam-Webster) an extensive illustrated medical encyclopedia, detailed information on prescriptions, and over-the-counter medications. It also includes directories of medical professionals and facilities. The Health Topic section (nearly 700 articles) provide basic information on medical conditions and provides links to additional sources of reliable information outside the library. There are also tutorials (over 160) describing medical conditions and proceudres, as well as a large library of surgery videos.
◾PubMed: This section of the site is a searchable database of over 1.5 million citations to biomedical journal articles and books in all languages dating back to the 1950's. Complete bibliographic information is given for locating each article and often links are provided that will enable you to retrieve the full text and any related resources.
◾NIH Senior Health: This section of the Medline Plus site is designed especially for older adults. The information given is presented in a simplified manner so that it can be used by the elderly directly, and is especially good for patient education. -
MedscapeMedscape from WebMD is a part of WebMD Health Professional Network that includes theHeart.org and eMedicine.com.
-
American Red CrossThe American Red Cross prevents and alleviates human suffering in the face of emergencies by mobilizing the power of volunteers and the generosity of donors.
anatomyn the study of the structure and parts of the body.
physiologyn the study concerned with the processes and functioning oforganisms.
Reference:
Mosby's Dictionary of Complementary and Alternative Medicine. (c) 2005, Elsevier.
|
|
|
|
|
|
-
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention - Healthcare-associated Infections (HAI)List of diseases plus information for each.
-
Family Practice Notebook - Infectious Disease BookChapters on bacterial, viral, fungal, parasitical infections plus other diseases.
-
Infectious Diseases Society of America - Topics of InterestList of infectious disease topics.
-
World Health Organization - Infectious DiseasesGeneral and technical information along with statistical information, multimedia, and other resources.
|
Medical sites
|
Pharmacology:
Browse or search for drug names; includes disease information and slide shows.
Database of OTC and prescription drugs; information includes ingredients, interactions and more.
A to Z list of drugs with extensive information on each. Includes pill identifier and disease information.
Check for potential interactions between drugs.
The NLM Drug Information Portal gives users a gateway to selected drug information
from the National Library of Medicine.
Evaluating Internet Health information Consumer health information portal from the National Library of Medicine.
EVIDENCE BASED MEDICINE (EBM) Centre for Evidence Based Medicine (CEBM) - Resource Centre Contains information and practical resources to help you practice and teach evidence-based medicine. Evidence Based Medicine Glossary Introduction to Evidence Based Medicine A tutorial from UNC Health Sciences Library.
Joanna Briggs Institute
The Institute makes some evidence-based information freely available,
eg. consumer information, Best Practice information sheets, technical reports,
systematic review protocols, selected articles and other information.
|
|
The place to begin with medical questions. It contains news, information, research resources, and links covering all medical fields, updated daily for healthcare professionals and the general public. American Association of Professional Coders AAPC was founded in 1988 to provide education and professional certification to physician-based medical coders and to elevate the standards of medical coding by providing student training, certification, ongoing education, networking, and job opportunities. Since then, AAPC has expanded beyond outpatient coding to include training and credentials in documentation and coding audits, inpatient hospital/facility coding, regulatory compliance, and physician practice management. Currently, AAPC has a membership base over 141,000 worldwide, of which nearly 99,000 are certified.
American Health Information Management Association
*The American Health Information Management Association (AHIMA) is the premier association of health information management (HIM) professionals worldwide. Serving 52 affiliated component state associations and more than 71,000 members, it is recognized as the leading source of "HIM knowledge," a respected authority for rigorous professional education and training.
*Founded in 1928 to improve health record quality, AHIMA has played a leadership role in the effective management of health data and medical records needed to deliver quality healthcare to the public. American Medical Billing Association
*Our mission as a medical billing association is to provide industry and regulatory education, networking opportunities for our members, to be able to share information and ideas and to market our member's abilities and professional services as a group.
*We offer the only medical billing specialist certification exam (CMRS) recognized nationally by billers, coders, employers and other entities. The American Medical Billing Association (AMBA) encourages and relies on member participation and input. *Our National Medical Billing Advisory Board provides input, ideas and advice to AMBA leadership for the betterment of our association and our profession. *Our ultimate goal is to provide members with medical billing and related resources that enhance knowledge and skills to develop new ideas and technology, collectively increasing and realizing true industry growth and leadership among medical billers and consultants. *AMBA was formed and is targeted toward providing assistance for doctor's office and independent professional medical billers with similar needs, interests and goals. Medical Association of Billers
*Founded in 1995, the Medical Association of Billers is the premier training and credentialing association for medical billing and coding. The MAB curriculum has been approved and licensed by the Commission for Post Secondary Education and MAB is an approved vendor for Federal agencies.
*MAB is dedicated to the pursuit of excellence in the development of medical billing and coding programs which are centered on the principles of encouragement, excellence, integrity, and service. To accomplish this Mission, they seek to achieve a balance among instructional development, teaching and service. They work to provide leadership in partnership with medical communities throughout the country and participate in efforts to create and promote relevant standards and develop relationships with organizations pursuing similar goals. Professional Association of Healthcare Coding Specialists
The Professional Association of Healthcare Coding Specialists (PAHCS) is a communications network and member support system dedicated to enhancing the compliance, documentation, and reimbursement capabilities of healthcare coders.
National Association of Health Care Assistants
Our mission is to elevate the professional standing and performance of Certified Nursing Assistance through recognition, motivation, education and development; building alliances with health care providers, reducing costs and improving the care for our frail and elderly population.
|
American Association of Medical Assistants (AAMA) This site offers extensive information about the CMA exam, MA FAQs, and links to many helpful resources for professionals and people who want to learn more about CMAs.
Membership in the AMA is only available to doctors, but the website has information of interest to people in the medical community at large. CPR, Getting Healthy, Careers, Healthcare Research, and information about cardiovascular conditions. Red Cross stories, news and events, training and certification, and ways to help National Network of Career Nursing Assistants
Career Nurse Assistants’ Programs, Inc is also known as the National Network of Career Nursing Assistants, a non-profit, tax exempt, educational organization promoting recognition, education, research, advocacy and peer support development for nursing assistants in nursing homes and other long term care settings.
.
|
-
AAMA American Association of Medical Assistants E-UpdateSign up to receive AAMA's free e-newsletter
-
American Journal of MedicineFor the latest medical news, images and editorials.
-
BioMed Central Free Internet JournalsThe research articles in all journals published by BioMed Central are immediately and permanently available online without charge.
-
CMA TodayThe AAMA’s flagship magazine, CMA Today, is designed to meet the informational needs of medical assistants.
-
Emergency MedicinePractical, hands-on clinical information that is directly relevant to emergency and urgent care practice.
-
Hopkins MedicinePublished three times a year, Hopkins Medicine magazine shares the issues and events that shape one of the world's leading health care institutions.
-
IJAHSP Internet Journal of Allied Health Sciences and PracticeSubscribe for free; internationally peer-reviewed, open-access, scholarly, on-line journal dedicated to the exploration of allied health professional practice, research, and education.
-
Internet Scientific PublicationsAn open-access collection of peer-reviewed medical and scientific journals, covering a wide range of topics, disciplines, and specialties, and boasting authorship from all around the world.
-
JAMA Journal of the American Medical AssociationThe variety of medical journals published by the AMA. Click on a title and go to the All Issues area. Most articles older than 4 months can be accessed for free online.
-
Medscape.comMedical news, clinical trial coverage, drug updates, journal articles, CME activities and more.
-
The New York Times: HealthSearch or browse NY Times articles related to health research, fitness and nutrition, health money and policy, health views, and their own health guide.
-
PubMed DatabasePubMed Central® (PMC) is a free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM).
|
Matching Medical Terms and Meanings
Matching exercise from mdtrng.org
Medical Terminology Practice Test From AAMA
Master List of Prescription Abbreviations
Compliments of EveryPatientsAdvocate.com and About.com
Pharmacy Abbreviations
From Polaris Career Center
Medical Terminology Self-Paced Mini-Course
From Des Moines University. This course covers approximately 300 terms; learn the basics of what makes up medical terms so you can use, understand and recognize them.
Medical Terminology Course
From Sweethaven Publishing. Self-paced, complete and self-contained course in modern medical terminology. It is suitable for all students of the health occupations. Little prior knowledge of anatomy, physiology, and pharmacology is required.
 |
Acronyms and Initialisms
The purpose of this site is to provide visitors with an explanation of an acronym and does not contain any information that could replace the relationship that exists between the site visitor and his/her health professional. Please note this site was last updated in 2009.
Aetna InteliHealth
Browse or search for diseases; includes definitions, symptoms, treatment, prognosis and more.
MedTerms - MedicineNet.com
This is a large site with medical, health, disease and conditions, procedures and tests, medications, health and wellness look up features.
MediLexicon
Primarily a dictionary of over 200,000 medical, pharmaceutical, biomedical and healthcare acronyms and abbreviations. The website also contains medical news and information for the medical, pharmaceutical and healthcare professional as well as links for ICD9 codes and the Merck Manual of Diagnosis and Therapy.
Orphanet
Encyclopedia of rare diseases and orphan drugs plus links to research and patient organizations
|
MedLine Plus Medical Dictionary
Click on the red speaker icon within each entry to hear audio pronunciations for terms.
Medical Eponyms
Medical eponym database created & maintained by Dr. Andrew Yee of Massachusetts General Hospital.
Merck Manual: Understanding Medical Terminology
Provides a breakdown of commonly used medical prefixes, roots, and suffixes. Also provides links to other resources, including a pronounciation guide.
Medical Terminology and Drug Database
Hosted by St. Jude's Hospital. Definitions are provided by the National Cancer Institute, U.S. National Institutes of Health. The database is updated monthly.
Drug List Index: Generic and Trade Names
Pronounciation guide with audio. Look up generic drug trade names, and vice-versa. Provided by the University of Michigan's Medicinal Chemistry Virtual Library (MCVL).
|
National HealthCareer Association - Phlebotomy Technician Certification (CPT)
Information about the Phlebotomy Technician Certification accredited by the National Commission for Certifying Agencies.
IJAHSP Internet Journal of Allied Health Sciences and Practice
Subscribe for free; internationally peer-reviewed, open-access, scholarly, on-line journal dedicated to the exploration of allied health professional practice, research, and education.
Search or browse NY Times articles related to health research, fitness and nutrition, health money and policy, health views, and their own health guide.
PubMed Central® (PMC) is a free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM).
BioMed Central Free Internet Journals
The research articles in all journals published by BioMed Central are immediately and permanently available online without charge.
Published three times a year, Hopkins Medicine magazine shares the issues and events that shape one of the world's leading health care institutions.
Internet Scientific Publications
An open-access collection of peer-reviewed medical and scientific journals, covering a wide range of topics, disciplines, and specialties, and boasting authorship from all around the world.
Provide your email address to sign up for a free monthly e-newsletter. Includes tips on specimen collection, product announcements, technical information, and more. Edited by the Director of the Center for Phlebotomy Education, Dennis J. Ernst MT(ASCP).
Collection of phlebotomy news, research, blogs and podcasts.
Occupational Outlook Handbook: Phlebotomist
NIH - DailyMed
Database of OTC and prescription drugs; information includes ingredients, interactions and more.
PDR.net (Physician's Desk Reference)
The leading distributor of drug labeling information, product safety Alerts, and REMS programs includes the Physicians' Desk Reference® (PDR®), the most trusted and commonly used drug information reference, PDR.net®, mobilePDR®, and PDR Drug Alerts, the only service providing electronic delivery of mandated safety Alerts to physicians and other prescribers. PDR now integrates a broad suite of services into Electronic Health Records (EHRs) and includes the RxEvent.org adverse event reporting service.
Nature Research is the home of of high impact scientific and medical information in print and online. The Nature Research portfolio includes journals, online databases, and services across the life, physical, chemical and applied sciences and clinical medicine.
Rx List
A to Z list of drugs with extensive information on each. Includes pill identifier and disease information.
University of Maryland Medical Center - Drug Interaction Tool
Check for potential interactions between drugs.
***Some of the best job sites are traditional job boards, like Monster and CareerBuilder. Others, like Indeed.com, allow you to search many job boards, company career pages, associations, and other sites that list jobs.
All of them are worth incorporating into your job search, because not all employers list on every site, even though it may sometimes seem that way.
Careerbuilder.com
CareerBuilder is among the top job sites with thousands of job postings and resumes. The site has partnered with many newspapers to provide local as well as national job listings. CareerBuilder also powers the career sites for more than 10,000 Web sites, including 140 newspapers and leading portals such as MSN and AOL. More »
Coolworks.com.
If you're interested in a seasonal job, start your search with CoolWorks. CoolWorks lists thousands of summer and seasonal jobs. There's a free weekly email newsletter and the opportunity to sign-up for a free email account to use for your job search. More »
Indeed.com.
Indeed includes millions of job listings from thousands of web sites, including company career pages, job boards, newspaper classifieds, associations, and blogs. Any job search can be saved as an email alert, so new jobs are delivered daily. Job seekers may also search job trends and salaries, read and participate in discussion forums, research companies and even find people working for companies of interest through their online social networks. More »
LinkedIn is the top career networking site and an excellent way to connect with people who can help with your job search and/or who work at a company you're interested in. In addition, LinkedIn has a Jobs section where you can search for positions by keyword and location, or use the Advanced Search option to search for listings by even more specific criteria. More »
LinkUp
LinkUp is a job search engine that uncovers unadvertised jobs listed on company web sites. LinkUp monitors thousands of small, mid-sized, and large company career sections in order to connect applicants with unadvertised jobs by listing the jobs on company web sites. More »
Monster.com
From a numbers perspective, Monster continues to be the top job board site. Positions range from hourly local jobs to professional positions in just about every career field. More »
SimplyHired.com.
SimplyHired searches thousands of job boards, classifieds, and company sites. Advanced search options include type of job, type of company, keyword, location, and the date the job was posted. More »
US.jobs
US.jobs lists thousands of jobs directly from company websites and from state job banks. The site is the non profit National Labor Exchange provided by DirectEmployers and The National Association of State Workforce Agencies (NASWA). More »
USAJobs.gov
USAJobs (USAJobs.gov) is the Federal Government's official source for Federal government job listings, job application, and employment information.